2020 UCalgary Three Minute Thesis Finals

Due to COVID-19, this event has been postponed. Check back later for details.

List of finalists coming soon!

Check back after the 3MT heats (new dates to be decided) to know who will be going to the finals and their 3MT topics. Find heat dates and time on the My GradSkills Calendar. 

List of featured displays coming soon!

Check back for updates on what graduate student projects and research will be showcased at the UCalgary 3MT finals.

2020 UCalgary 3MT Guest Judges

Mary Anne Moser

Mary Anne Moser

President and Ceo, Telus Spark


Learn more about Telus Spark >>

John Larsen

John Larsen

Member of the Board of Governors, Glenbow Museum

Executive Vice President, Edelman Canada

Learn more about the Glenbow >>

Learn more about Edelman >>

Maria Elena Hover

Maria Elena Hover

Co-founder and Event Director, MakeFashion

Learn more about MakeFashion >>

UCalgary on the national stage

To date, four UCalgary 3MT winners have gone to Canadian Nationals resulting in two national champions and one national People's Choice award winner, making the University of Calgary the most accomplished institution in the history of Canada's 3MT competition.

Elizabeth Watt

Elizabeth Watt

2015 Canadian National Champion

Program: Physics and Astronomy. Supervisor: Dr. Tyler Meyer, PhD.

Permanent Breast Seed Implant: Improving Patient Experience in Early-stage Breast Cancer.

Watch Elizabeth's 3MT video

Aprami Jaggi

Aprami Jaggi

2017 Western Regional Champion and Finalist, Canadian Nationals

Program: Geoscience. Supervisors: Dr. Steve R. Larter, PhD and Dr. Thomas B.P. Oldenburn, PhD

The Ultimate Fate of Oil in the Marine Environment Following Spillage.

Watch Aprami's 3MT video

Chidera Nwaroh

Chidera Nwaroh

2018 Canadian National Champion

Program: Medical Science. Supervisor: Dr. Ashley Harris, PhD.

A Virtual Biopsy: Detecting Metabolite Changes in the Brain.

Watch Chidera's 3MT video

Laura Rios Carreno

Laura Rios Carreno

2019 Canadian National People's Choice Winner

Program: Chemical and Petroleum Engineering. Supervisor: Dr. Martin Jasso, PhD.

Modification of Asphalt with Reactive Polymers for Quality Enhancement of the Pavement.

Watch Laura's 3MT video